Click Here for the WSI Overview
Click Here for the Board of Directors
Click Here for a Listing of WSI Members and Websites
Click Here for More Information on Becoming a WSI Member
Click Here for an Event Calendar Listing
Click Here for WSI Exhibit Information and Galleries
Click Here for WSI Exhibit Information and Galleries
Click Here to Learn How to Donate or Become a Sponsor of WSI
Click Here for Links and Resources
Click Here to Contact the WSI
Click Here to Return to the Main Splash Screen
Watercolor Society of Indiana Founders Award
WSI Founded Indianapolis 1983
Founders (Seated Left to Right) Crawford Donnelly, Shirley Werner Carr (Standing Left to Right) James Curtin Lentz, E. Roger Frey, Wilbur Meese (Not Pictured) Stephen Edwards

In honor and appreciation of our founding members, the Watercolor Society of Indiana has created the founders award as Third Place Merit Award for 1996 and thereafter. Thank you Crawford Donnelly, Stephen Edwards, James Curtin Lentz, Wilbur Meese, E. Roger Frey, and Shirley Warner Carr.
In late 1982 Crawford Donnelly and Stephen Edwards discussed the need for a watercolor club in the state of Indiana. They resolved to tackle the task of organizing and generating interest in such a group. Letters were sent statewide to various artists concerning a first meeting for organizational purposes.

The first meeting was held in October at the Indianapolis Art League (IAL.) A committee was selected to draft a constitution and by-laws for the group. It was made up of Crawford Donnelly, Stephen Edwards, Roger Frey, James Curtain Lentz, and headed by Wilbur Meese, with the assistance of Shirley Werner Carr. The draft was submitted to the potential members for their approval in January, 1983. At the second meeting the constitution and by-laws were passed, and Wilbur Meese was elected as the first president. During the next few weeks, 120 Charter Members began the Watercolor Society of Indiana.